What do we have?

Ever since I can remember I heard the phrase “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone”.  I had a problem with that then and I still do now.  Why oh why do we have to wait until we lose it to value it?  Did we not know it was valuable when we acquired it or when we started the relationship?  The answer is yes we did or we wouldn’t have invested time into it.  We eventually took it for granted and lost it.  How many of us have done so?  I know I have.  We find love and we lose it because we become complacent.  We live in a country with so much opportunity but we forget and we take it for granted.  Are we going to take the chance of one day not being able to blog about how we feel? Are we going to lose the amazing partner we share our lives with because we are used to waking up next to them in the morning?  We can’t let routine suck the freedom and value out of us.

Today let’s appreciate what we have.  we have a job? let’s do our best so that we keep it.  We have a wonderful person to share life with? let’s thank them for making a commitment and for making us happy.  We have kids? Let’s remind them that they have enriched our lives and gave us a purpose.  We have our limbs, senses, abilities to laugh, cry, think? let’s use it and make something great.  We don’t like how our country is being run? let’s tell someone and change it.

So you see, I thank every single one of you that has taken the time to read my posts and I thank you for sharing yours.  We stand together and I will never take that for granted.  Today I will let as many people I know how much I appreciate them and how much they enrich my life.  I hope you do the same.

Leave a Reply

